7 Things To Do Before Selling Your MacBook

7 Things

7 Things  : MacBook is one of the best laptops ever. Every year, Apple presents a new version of the MacBook that offers various advantages, ranging from a thinner and lighter design, more attractive colors, touchbar, improved features, a more comfortable keyboard, and so on. No wonder that this laptop made by Apple is always awaited by technology enthusiasts.

You yourself may be tempted and want to buy a new MacBook while the MacBook you currently have is still in good condition. Finally, you decide to sell your old MacBook, either to individuals or to a gadget store.

Don’t rush to sell it! Before selling a MacBook, there are a few things that need to be done to protect data and ensure a smooth transition for its new owner 7 Things . What’s the to-do list?
1. Backup and transfer important data

In the digital era, data is something that is very important to be saved. So, before selling your MacBook, you need to save all the important data that was on your old MacBook.

The easiest way to store all your files is to use Time Machine. Apart from that, another safest way to store files is to transfer all files and folders to an external hard drive. You can also back up data to cloud storage, such as Google Drive and Microsoft OneDrive.

2. Deauthorize MacBook from Apple Music

Apple allows each user to authorize up to five devices per Apple ID for the Apple Music app. Authorization essentially gives the device access to all the content available in an Apple Music account.

If you sell a MacBook without deauthorizing it, you’ll have one less device to authorize your account. Plus, new MacBook owners will be able to access all of your content.
3. Sign out of iCloud and Apple ID

iCloud works to sync everything on Apple devices. Before you sell it, it is very important to sign out or log out of your account. This ensures that people who are going to buy your old MacBook can’t access all of your files.

Signing out of iCloud automatically also signs you out of the App Store, iMessage, and FaceTime. Here’s how to sign out of iCloud for a MacBook running macOS Catalina or later:

Click the Apple icon in the top left, then click System Preferences.
Select Apple ID, then click Overview in the sidebar.
Click Sign Out at the bottom of the window.

4. Log out of all accounts and apps

Aside from Apple services, make sure you quit all other apps on your MacBook. This is especially true for software licensed to you.

If you don’t do this, it could cause problems if future MacBook owners decide to download and install the same app or software. To remove an account, you will need:

Open System Preferences and then click Internet Accounts.
Next, select the account in the sidebar, then click the delete icon (–) at the bottom to delete the account.

5. Disconnect all accessories

If you’re using Bluetooth devices with your MacBook, it’s a good idea to unplug everything. This is especially important if you want to sell your device to a friend or family member you spend a lot of time with. Otherwise, the device will accidentally connect to the old device.

How to do it:

Click the Apple icon in the top left, then click System Preferences.
Select Bluetooth and you will see a list of paired devices.
Hover over each and click the delete button (x) to disconnect.

6. Disable File Vault

File Vault is a feature that encrypts all the information on your MacBook. This is meant to prevent hackers from stealing, hacking data, or gaining access to your device.

If you previously encrypted file contents, you should disable it. If you don’t do this, the MacBook will ask for a password, preventing the new owner from setting up their MacBook.

To do this:

Open System Preferences, then click Security & Privacy.
Select the FileVault tab, then Turn FileVault Off.

7. Erase the hard drive completely

After removing all personal data from the MacBook and backing up important files on other storage, it’s time to clean the hard drive. Please note that deleted files can be recovered from your MacBook, so it’s a good idea to permanently wipe the MacBook drive so that all data cannot be recovered.

Plus, cleaning your MacBook properly also makes the device more ready for new users to use and ensures that they won’t have any problems setting it up. The exact steps for resetting a MacBook depend on the model and OS it’s running on.

MacBooks are complex devices with many features that need to be turned off before you sell them. After performing all these steps, the MacBook is ready to be sold and used by the new owner.

that’s 7 things

You May Also Like

About the Author: AKDSEO